8 branches of ayurveda

Ayurveda is a traditional Indian medicine practice with historical roots in India. The first conventional Sanskrit literature on Ayurveda divided medicine into eight parts. By understanding the 8 branches of Ayurveda, you can gain a deeper appreciation for this ancient system and its potential benefits for your health. Ayurveda is widely present in India and Nepal, claimed by more than 80% of the population. Ayurvedic philosophy and approach are pseudoscientific. This definition is “the medication with eight components,” which we will review individually.

8 Branches of Ayurveda

Kaaya Chikitsa – Internal Medicine/General

The term ‘Kaya’ stands for ‘Agni,’ or the digestive fire in the body. Kaya also signifies the body itself. Therefore the digestive fire has been projected as being as crucial as the body’s life. It is in charge of the body’s metabolism. Many ailments cause an imbalance in the ‘Agni’ principle. Kaya Chikitsa is a discipline that treats common problems like fever, diarrhea, cough, skin disorders, lung diseases, and bone disorders by rebalancing Agni.

The Charaka Samhita, given out by the sage proponent of Ayurveda-Rishi Charaka, is the most powerful and authoritative book on the branch of Kaya Chikitsa and, for that matter, the whole science of Ayurveda. The Charaka Samhita is the theoretical body of knowledge of Ayurvedic science, concentrating on Kaya Chikitsa.

Shalya Tantra – General Surgery

Shalya Chikitsa is an important Ayurvedic science. Susruta, the wise physician’s name, is linked with surgery. We learned about the complex surgical procedures used in India thousands of years ago through his work Susruta Samhita. A particular therapy that involves immersing the eyes in a specific herbal decoction reduces the strain caused by prolonged gazing at the computer and television screens and aids in preventing cataract development. Reduces the sensation of pain and burning in the eyes.

Baala Chikitsa – Pediatrics

Baala Chikitsa, or Kumarbhritya, traces back to a sage named Maricha Kashyapa, a pioneer of the Ayurvedic School of paediatrics. His apprentice Vriddha Jivaka assisted in documenting and encoding his master’s knowledge in paediatrics in the well-known work Kashyapa Samhita. Children and newborns, unlike adults, are unable to communicate their grievances. Their doses differ from those of adults, and the medications must be safe for their bodies.

These distinctions forced the establishment of a separate branch of medicine within the scope of Ayurvedic studies known as Kumarbhritya or Baala Chikitsa.

Branches of Ayurveda

Graha Chikitsa – Psychology

Graha Chikitsa focuses on disorders acquired or inherited from unknown origins. This section of Ayurveda focuses on mental diseases or psychic ailments caused by supernatural forces or the entrance of an evil spirit. The word Bhuta has been defined variously by many authorities. Some specialists believe Bhuta refers to ghosts and other malicious entities that induce aberrant psychological disorders. Others believe that Bhuta signifies microscopic entities such as viruses and bacteria that cannot see with the naked eye.

It is referred to as idiopathic disorder since the actual origin of the condition is uncertain. Ayurveda also considers previous karma or acts as a causal component in some ailments.

  • Kumarbhritya – Gynecology – Obstetrics and Paediatrics

Kaumarbhritya is one of the most important branches of Ayurveda, dealing with the child’s care from conception to maturity. It is one of Ayurveda’s Eight Branches (Astang), dealing with preventative and curative child care. Kaya also refers to Agni and Ayurvedic therapies builts on Agni. The first line of treatment for the majority of illnesses is Agni correction.

Urdhvaanga or Shalakya Chikitsa – EENT

If you enjoy Ayurveda as much as we do, you’ve probably heard of or tried therapies like Netradhara, Karnapoornam, Gandoosham, or Shirolepa. You may need to realise that these therapies are a branch of science known as Shalakya Chikitsa. Shalakya Tantra treats ailments and imbalances in body portions above the shoulders through holistic therapies, cleanses, and herbal formulations.

Shalya Chikitsa – Surgery

Shalya Chikitsa is an important Ayurvedic science. Susruta, the name of the sage-physician, is associated with surgery. We learned about the complex surgical procedures used in India thousands of years ago through his work Susruta Samhita.

Jara Chikitsa – Geriatrics, Rejuvenation

Jara Chikitsa or Rasayana is a one-of-a-kind treatment approach for delaying ageing and reducing the severity of difficulties that arise during this degenerative stage. Minimise future ageing before old age occurs. Youth is the best age to cure geriatric disorders.

You May Also Like:
Practical Beauty Tips to Look Younger

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *